Two Weeks In May: Trip To England And France

France and England trip through iPhone’s perspective.
Waiting in RDU to board flight through Boston.

Random plane photo I love

Leaving rainy Raleigh to head to sunny England…something is amiss here..hmmmm.

Make sure you have one of these on hand when flying in to London….

….or look for one of these to get you where you need to go.

If you do need a cab have cash, they do not have card machines in the cab and paying someone to take you to an ATM stinks.

Pub in England where my owner and her sister had lunch.

Hamburger with ginormous fries!

Duck confit leg with cabbage.

I had been wondering what to do with the wagon wheel I had laying around:)…

Cute pig figurine at the The Pigs Pub.

Don’t tell the British but they mispronounce words too. This is pronounced Lester (actually Lestuh). And I thought Arkansas was a badly pronounced word.

View from the train from England to France…

Another train view….thought it ironic to see the word ozone spray painted on a fence.

Guess where I am?

View from La Petite Table on Rue De La Monnaie in Vieux Lille

Sophia’s stellar parking job and yes getting out of the car was a nightmare.

Cobbled Vieux Lille 

Apparently death is imminent if you enter through here….so don’t do it.

First experience with street art I recognize since I have watched “Exit Through the Gift Shop”.

This is Mimi the Clown

Seeing the numbers makes me feel like I am driving fast even if they are in km/h

The roads you get to enjoy driving in the north of France

The north of France is littered with these wind terbines.

Cemeteries from the World Wars are also everywhere. English, Canadian, this one is German. There were four names on each cross.

French puffy clouds…

…used to look up at them as a child and wish I could go play on them. They were like big pillows to me.

Foie Gras…..kidding

My Great Uncle taking his walk in the back garden (he is 93 yrs old!).

Champagne in champagne country….yeay for real bubbles!

What to do if you are elderly and don’t like what you see and it is too noisy.

Notre Dame Cathedral in Reims France. They are celebrating 800 yrs this year.

Patrick Blanc vertical garden wall in Reims FranceThe one, the only reason I would seek out this place in France, free wifi!

They say that you should do as they do in the country you visit…I however will pass on this option.

The lovely B&B I stayed in the night before I had to head back,

…it is in London and I highly recommend it! (http://blenheimlodge.com/)

Obviously they knew I was coming because they had a pillow with my name on it

It seems so much nicer to name a home then treat it like a number;)

Historic Kenwood House near B&B

This is Lucy the overachieving Weimaraner

I do not like potato chips but I love potato crisps in England. Do not tell me it is the same!

British pigeon who I shared some crisps with.

Breakfast spread the morning I had to leave….it made me want to stay, sighhhhh.

I’ve never had a more accurate warning. In Heathrow Airport they apparently want to keep germs off my removing your epidermis with scalding water.

View from my seat leaving Logan Airport on the way back to Raleigh. My flights to and from England had me in the middle seat of the plane. This sounds bad except that both times I had no one next to me. Therefore the worst seat on the plane became the best bed;).


About sophiaharcourt

My interest in photography actually started as a young child with a box of photos. A large cardboard box that contained albums and loose photos. I would spend a couple hours per viewing going through them. Quite a few years later my interest in having a good camera came about because I would see things and think to myself that would make a great photo. While trying to decide my next step after serving in the Air Force a friend suggested I go to school for photography. People do that? That's like going to school for ....I don't know eating lobster and french chocolate eclairs (some of my favorite foods but not necessarily together). "Okay", I thought! So fast forward again to now. I have been taking photographs and assisting since graduating in 2004 and love every minute of it. Here are some facts about me that you wouldn't know after having met me: 1. I am not from America. I was born in England. 2. My first language was French (confusing I know) 3. I've served in the Air Force (yep, it can be done without citizenship) 4. I love elephants and can't wait to go to Africa one day to see them where they belong. 5. I love to laugh (like almost freakishly). I scour comedy central for new standup comics and watch shows like The Office and Modern Family and World's Dumbest just for a laugh. I kind of sound like an addict, hmmmm. 6. I do NOT like the cold! I don't mind rain (I'm British after all) but abhor the cold. Anyone found a place with highs in the 80's and low in the 60's? 7. I LOVE latin music! (Favorite popular musicians of that genre are Shakira, Marc Anthony, Elvis Crespo, Gipsy Kings and Santana, then anything salsa/merengue).

Leave a Reply

